Walter Hood joins 2019 Landscape Australia Conference

Walter Hood will be joining the line-up of speakers at the 2019 Landscape Australia Conference. The conference, that will explore the agency of landscape in responding to contemporary conditions, will be held at the Clemenger Auditorium at the NGV International on Saturday 11 May.

Hood will join a diverse program that includes Singaporean landscape architect Helen Smith-Yeo (STX Landscape Architects), Thai artist and landscape architect, Sanitas Pradittasnee (Sanitas Studio), manager of Campus Design Quality and Planning at Monash University, Jocelyn Chiew (Monash University), Canberra-based landscape architect Anna Chauvel (Place Laboratory) and Melbourne-based practitioner Cassandra Chilton (Rush Wright Associates).

Since founding his practice, Hood Design Studio, in Oakland in 1992, Hood has led the design of projects spanning public art, landscape architecture and urban design. Among his notable works are the Cooper-Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum Arthur Ross Terrace and Garden in New York City (2015), the Powell Street Promenade (2012) and New de Young Museum Gardens (2005) in San Francisco, Splash Pad Park (2003) in Oakland and the Hill District Greenprint masterplan for Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (2010).

Hood is a professor of landscape architecture at the University of California, Berkeley where he specializes in community development and citizen participation through landscape design processes. Throughout his career, Hood has been the recipient of numerous awards, including the AIA Award for Collaborative Achievement in 2011, the Cooper‐Hewitt National Design Award for Landscape Design in 2010 and the Academy of Arts and Letters Architecture Award in 2017.

Full details of the 2019 Landscape Australia Conference program are available here. To purchase tickets to the conference, go here.

The Landscape Australia Conference is part of the 2019 Victorian Design Program and is generously supported by the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects, Ozbreed and Christie, presented by Landscape Architecture Australia magazine and, and organized by Architecture Media.

More news

See all
Domic by James Birrell Design Lab Winners announced: 2020 QLD Landscape Architecture Awards

The Queensland chapter of AILA has awarded 17 projects from a total of 68 submissions.

The University of Queensland. UQ introduces new degree for the age of the Australian megacity

The University of Queensland has introduced a new masters degree in urban development and design aimed at creating sustainable cities.

Sunvale Community Park by Brimbank City Council Winners announced: 2020 VIC Landscape Architecture Awards

Twenty-six projects were awarded across 12 categories from a total of 50 entries.

The proposed new Sydney Fish Market by 3XN, BVN and Aspect Studios. $750 million relocation and redevelopment of Sydney Fish Market approved

The NSW government has approved the $750 million redevelopment of the Sydney Fish Market.

Most read

Latest on site