Endorsed by

Nominations open for 2019 Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award

Nominations have opened for the 2019 edition of the Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award.

Inaugurated in 2005 by the International Federation of Landscape Architects (IFLA) the annual award celebrates a living landscape architect whose “achievements and contributions have had a unique and lasting impact on the welfare of society and the environment and on the promotion of the profession of landscape architecture.” The award is named after British landscape architect Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe (1900 - 1996), a founding president of IFLA, who was noted for projects including Cheddar Gorge and the Kennedy Memorial at Runnymede in the UK. Jellicoe was a founding member and later President of the British Institute of Landscape Architects. He was knighted for services to landscape architecture in 1979. In 1994, he received the Royal Horticultural Society’s Victoria Medal of Honour.

The Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award is open to landscape architects throughout the world involved in landscape planning, design or management; improving the quality of human settlements or environments; or landscape architectural education. Nominations can be made by IFLA member associations, delegates, members and members of allied professional organizations, as well as private individuals.

Previous recipients of the award include American landscape architect and academic Anne Whiston Spirn in 2018, Dutch landscape architect and planner Dirk Sijmons in 2017, and German practitioner Peter Latz in 2016.

Nominations for the award close 1 April. For more information, go here.

More news

See all
Sharon Harwood RPIA (fellow) was awarded Planning of the Year in the 2019 National Awards for Planning Excellence. Celebrating the best in Australian planning in 2019

The Planning Institute of Australia held its 2019 National Awards for Planning Excellence Ceremony on the Gold Coast on 15 May 2019, awarding people and …

A possible wetlands outcome from the plan in E-Gate. City of Melbourne considers chain of new parks and wetlands in draft plan for Moonee Ponds Creek

The City of Melbourne is currently seeking public feedback on a plan for Moonee Ponds Creek which aims to create new green public spaces and …

Biodiversity in urban areas is dependent on greening initiatives Plants tell stories of cultural connection

The Living Pavilion emphasizes the need for First Nations perspectives, histories and culture to take centre stage in the face of increasing ecological uncertainty.

The May 2019 issue of Landscape Architecture Australia. May issue of LAA out now

A preview of the May 2019 issue of Landscape Architecture Australia.

Most read

Latest on site