Endorsed by

Winners revealed: 2019 SA Landscape Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Landscape Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 SA Landscape Architecture Awards, which celebrate the best landscape architecture projects in the state. Five projects received Awards of Excellence from the twenty-nine projects entered in this year’s program.

Jury chair Grace Lin said the 2019 entries highlighted the role of a genuine and inclusive engagement process in the production of meaningful outcomes.

“At the core of what we do is a healthy measure of optimism, the conviction that we are contributing to such things as quality of life, rich human experiences, building capacity, well-being and resilience, to outcomes that largely stretch far beyond the present, and thinking that reaches further than the confines of any site.

From thoughtful small-scale innovations and delightful garden sanctuaries, verdant and vibrant places, engaging inclusive play spaces and activated open spaces, to integrated landscape and building settings. From places that celebrate cultural diversity and heritage significance, to major infrastructure projects and urban design frameworks, and all that fits between. Through these entries, the ability of the landscape architecture profession to lead and influence greater benefits for our communities, environment and economy is unquestionable.”

Projects receiving Awards of Excellence and Landscape Architecture Awards will proceed to the National Awards with winners announced at the 2019 International Festival of Landscape Architecture to be held in Melbourne in October.

2019 SA Landscape Architecture Awards winners

Civic Landscape

Award of Excellence

Pridham Hall – JPE Design Studio with Snøhetta & Jam Factory

Landscape Architecture Award

Westfield Tea Tree Plaza – Outerspace Landscape Architects

Community Contribution

Landscape Architecture Award

Acknowledgement of Aboriginal Country Signage – Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure

Cultural Heritage

Award of Excellence

Felixstow Reserve Redevelopment – City of Norwood Payneham & St Peters, in association with Aspect Studios, Kaurna Nation Cultural Heritage Association, Paul Herzich, Oxigen and Integrated Heritage Services


Landscape Architecture Award

Jones Residence – TCL (Taylor Cullity Lethlean)


Award of Excellence

City Bikeways - North South Bikeway – City of Adelaide

Landscape Architecture Award

Aldinga Township Project – City of Onkaparinga

Parks and Open Space

Award of Excellence

Pelzer Park / Pityarilla (Park 19) Activity Hub – Aspect Studios, City of Adelaide and The Office for Design and Architecture SA

Landscape Architecture Award

Felixstow Reserve – Aspect Studios and Oxigen

Play Spaces

Landscape Architecture Award

Hendrie Street Reserve - a great place for all – City of Marion

Hilton Memorial Gardens Playspace – WAX Design

Small Projects

Landscape Architecture Award

Virginia Grove Active Branding Project – WAX Design

Urban Design

Award of Excellence

Lot Fourteen Master Plan & Protocols – Oxigen

Landscape Architecture Award

Design King William – City of Unley with Communikate, Village Well and Outerspace Landscape Architects

2019 AILA SA President’s Award

“Healthy Parks Healthy People SA - Action Plan 2 2016-2021 Quality Green Public Space” – Government of South Australia - Department for Health and Wellbeing and Department for Environment and Water

2019 AILA SA Future Leader Award

University of Adelaide graduate Oliver Johnson from Oxigen

2019 Healthy Parks Healthy People SA Award

Felixstow Reserve Redevelopment – City of Norwood Payneham & St Peters, in association with Aspect Studios, Kaurna Nation Cultural Heritage Association, Paul Herzich, Oxigen and Integrated Heritage Services

Related topics

More news

See all
The Arc by Koichi Takada Architects. Winners revealed: 2019 Think Brick Awards

The winners of the 2019 Think Brick Awards were announced at a gala dinner at the Crown Palladium in Melbourne.

Manatj Park (Kings Square), Perth City Link by Plan E Landscape Architects with Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects and Lyons Architects Shortlist revealed: 2019 Australian Urban Design Awards

Fifty-two entries have been shortlisted in the 2019 edition of the Australian Urban Design Awards.

Central Melbourne. Infrastructure Australia warns ‘more must be done’ to maintain quality of life

Infrastructure Australia has warned that despite rising rates of investment in infrastructure, “more must be done if we are to maintain, let alone enhance, our …

Barangaroo Point, Sydney, November 2014. Aerial image taken from Nearmap. International landscape architecture prize offers unprecedented US$100,000

US-based education and advocacy organization The Cultural Landscape Foundation has launched an international landscape architecture prize worth US$100,000 to be conferred biennially.

Most read

Latest on site