Winners announced: 2020 VIC Landscape Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Landscape Architects (AILA) has announced the winners of the 2020 VIC Landscape Architecture Awards.

Twenty-six projects were awarded across 12 categories from a total of 50 entries. Jury chair Jocelyn Chiew said that places designed with, and for community, were the strongest performers in this year’s program.

“The awards demonstrate that landscape architects play an essential role in effecting quality public realm outcomes that support wellbeing, biodiversity, social inclusion and sustainability. This is even more important in the context of a pandemic and the new urban metric of social distancing,” said Chiew.

Among the projects that received Awards of Excellence were a trails strategy for the Eastern Metropolitan Region by Fitzgerald Frisby Landscape Architecture; a series of new civic spaces in Brunswick by Moreland City Council and the RMIT University Building 100 project by Openwork.

“The Building 100 project is an ingenious solution to a common problem. It not only serves the purpose of preventing undesired vehicular activity, it enhances the pedestrian experience and offers an object of wonder; an intriguing punctuation of space that provides an appropriate adjunct to the adjoining architecture and a delightful alternative to the ubiquitous bollard,” said Chiew.

Chiew also noted a strong representation of regionally located projects among the winners.

North Gardens Sculpture Park Landscape Master Plan by Mandy Nicholson (Tharangalk Art), Glenn Romanis, Isobel Paton (Basalt: Art, Landscape, Sculpture) and David S Jones (Deakin University) presented a framework for the ongoing restoration of the Lake Wendouree landscape.

“The master plan for North Gardens Sculpture Park demonstrates leadership in new processes of engagement, embedded in deep listening,” said Chiew. “The team has demonstrated how cultural knowledge can enrich the ways in which Australians understand and manage local landscapes, setting a benchmark that will inform the practice of landscape architecture for years to come.”

AILA Victoria chapter president, Heath Gledhill, said the projects showcased in this year’s awards demonstrated the positive impact that landscape architects have on designing public space for community wellbeing.

“Amid the isolation of COVID-19, we’ve been reminded of the value of our gardens, parks, playgrounds and reserves. Outdoor spaces are essential to healthy community life, and are now more important than ever,” says Gledhill. “This year’s top landscapes showcase the importance of high-quality design for these outdoor spaces.”

Civic Landscape

Award of Excellence

Brunswick Town Hall Precinct Streetscape Upgrade by Moreland City Council

Landscape Architecture Award

Union Road Streetscape Improvements by Moonee Valley City Council

Community Contribution

Award of Excellence

The Living Pavilion by Brimbank City Council

Landscape Architecture Awards

Ferrars Street Education and Community Precinct by Tract
Tiny Wetland By GLAS Landscape Architects

Cultural Heritage

Award of Excellence

North Gardens Sculpture Park Landscape Master Plan by Mandy Nicholson – Tharangalk Art, Glenn Romanis, Isobel Paton – Basalt: Art, Landscape, Sculpture, and David S Jones – Deakin University

Landscape Architecture Award

Behan Carpark – Trinity College, Melbourne University by John Patrick Landscape Architects


Landscape Architecture Awards

320 George Street By Fiona Harrisson and Simon Ellis Landscape Architects
Nightingale 2.0 by SBLA Studio and Rebecca White

Health and Education Landscape

Landscape Architecture Awards

Jona Children’s Sensory Garden by Jeavons Landscape Architects
St Bernards College Chapel Forecourt by Papworth Davies
The Giant’s Causeway – St Francis Xavier College GPFLA by Orchard Design


Award of Excellence

Eastern Regional Trails Strategy by Fitzgerald Frisby Landscape Architecture

Landscape Architecture Award

Maribyrnong Waterfront IWM by Realmstudios

Landscape Planning

Award of Excellence

Siting and Design Guidelines for Structures on the Victorian Coast by Realmstudios

Landscape Architecture Award

Quarry Hills Whittlesea by City of Whittlesea

Parks and Open Space

Award of Excellence

Sunvale Community Park by Brimbank City Council

Landscape Architecture Award

Monash University Valley Creek by GLAS Landscape Architects

Play Spaces

Landscape Architecture Award

Olinda Playspace by Fitzgerald Frisby Landscape Architecture
Norris Bank Reserve Play Space by City of Whittlesea / Playce

Research, Policy and Communications

Award of Excellence

WaterLore: Learning from the Drylands by Antonia Besa and Gini Lee

Landscape Architecture Award

The Future Park by Jillian Walliss, Kirsten Bauer and Cassandra Chilton
Visual Impact Assessment Research in Urban Environments by Ata Tara

Small Projects

Award of Excellence

RMIT Building 100 Pedestrian Improvement by Openwork

Landscape Architecture Award

System Garden Rainforest Walk by SBLA Studio

Urban Design

Landscape Architecture Award

Wangaratta Railway Precinct Master Plan by Hassell

Future Leaders Graduate Award

Esther Ziebell, Tract Consultants

Future Leaders Student Award

Michelle Zacharias, RMIT University

Regional Achievement Award

Eaglehawk Regional Play Space by City of Greater Bendigo
North Gardens Sculpture Park Landscape Master Plan Mandy Nicholson – Tharangalk Art, Glenn Romanis, Isobel Paton – Basalt: Art, Landscape, Sculpture, and David S Jones – Deakin University
Wangaratta Railway Precinct Master Plan by Hassell
WaterLore: Learning from the Drylands by Antonia Besa and Gini Lee

More award

See all
Domic by James Birrell Design Lab Winners announced: 2020 QLD Landscape Architecture Awards

The Queensland chapter of AILA has awarded 17 projects from a total of 68 submissions.

Kambri, Australian National University (ANU) by Aspect Studios in association with Lahznimmo Architects Winners announced: 2020 ACT Landscape Architecture Awards

Three projects received Awards of Excellence and seven projects were the recipients of Landscape Architecture Awards across the state program.

Mahon Pool Amenities and Maroubra Seals Swimming Clubhouse by Sue Barnsley Design. Winners announced: 2020 NSW Landscape Architecture Awards

Awarded projects include a garden that celebrates the heritage of Sydney’s Chinatown; a conservation framework for a major urban park; and an Indigenous dance ground …

National prize winner: Revival: Drug Rehabilitation Landscape by Oshadi Jayasinghe of Deakin University 2019 Landscape Student Prize

The winners of the 2019 Landscape Architecture Australia Student Prize.

Most read

Latest on site