Winners announced: 2019 VIC Landscape Architecture Awards

The grounds for a regional hospital, the rooftop gardens of a Parliament building and a linear park beneath an elevated rail line were among the winners at the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects’ (AILA) 2019 VIC Landscape Architecture Awards, announced Friday 14 June in Melbourne.

“The jury was pleased by the number and quality of award entries this year,” said jury chair, Mary Papaioannou.

“We saw the contribution projects make through delivering public realm that encourages recovery and rehabilitation, inclusivity and engagement. We saw projects located in tertiary education settings that place student life at the heart of the campus experience, and many projects embracing the principles of biophilic design that celebrate the role plants play in the enrichment of human life. There was a strong geographic representation of projects demonstrating that landscape architects’ impact reaches far beyond urban environments.”

AILA Victorian Chapter president Adrian Gray: “Landscape architects ensure the complex relationship between people and nature is embedded through the many places that shape the way we live on this planet. These awards recognise that great design supports human well-being in our political, academic, health, urban and rural environments. Landscape architects create quality places where people and nature coexist.”

The 2019 AILA VIC awards jury comprised Mary Papaioannou – consultant and registered landscape architect, (jury chair); Ben Kronenberg – senior landscape architect at Openwork; Dan Nunan – registered landscape architect at Circle Plan; Jocelyn Chiew – registered landscape architect and manager Campus Design, Quality and Planning at Monash University; Elliet Spring – associate director at MGS Architects; Tanja Beer – academic fellow in Performance Design and Sustainability (Ecoscenography) at Melbourne University; and Bronwen Hamilton – Office of Victorian Government Architect (for Urban Design category only).

Projects receiving Awards of Excellence and Landscape Architecture Awards will proceed to the National Awards with winners announced at the 2019 International Festival of Landscape Architecture to be held in Melbourne in October.

Civic landscape

Award of Excellence

Bendigo Hospital Project – Oculus Landscape Architecture and Urban Design

Landscape Architecture Awards

Malop Street Green Spine – Outlines

RMIT New Academic Street – TCL

Deakin University: Building HD Courtyard – GHD Woodhead

Community Contribution

Landscape Architecture Award

Goulburn Valley Health Therapeutic Courtyard – Spiire

Cultural Heritage

Award of Excellence

Parliament of Victoria: Member’s Annex Landscapes – Taylor Cullity Lethlean

Landscape Architecture Award

Mount Buffalo Chalet Gardens Conservation Management Plan – Inspiring Place


Award of Excellence

Twig House – TCL

Landscape Architecture Awards

Bendigo Botanic Gardens – Garden for the Future – TCL


Award of Excellence

Caulfield to Dandenong Level Crossing Removal Project – Aspect Studios

Land Management

Award of Excellence

Greening the Pipeline: MOS Pilot Park – GHD Woodhead

Landscape Planning

Landscape Architecture Awards

Woowookarung Regional Park Plan – Site Office

Streets for People Feasibility Study – Hansen Partnership

Moonee Ponds Creek Opportunities Plan – McGregor Coxall

Play Spaces

Landscape Architecture Awards

Bridge Road Regional Playspace – Aspect Studios

George Pentland Botanic Gardens playspace – Leaf Design Studio

Parks and Open Space

Award of Excellence

Monash University Eastern Precinct Landscape – TCL

Landscape Architecture Awards

Lewis Park – McGregor Coxall

Caulfield to Dandenong Level Crossing Removal: Linear Parks and Djerring Trail – Aspect Studios

Research Policy and Communications

Award of Excellence

ReCasting Terra Nullius Blindness – Deakin University

Landscape Architecture Awards

Spiire Inclusive Cities Research Project – Spiire

Small Projects

Award of Excellence

Doubleground – Openwork and Muir Architecture

Landscape Architecture Awards

Turner Street Vertical Garden – Simon Ellis Landscape Architects


Landscape Architecture Awards

Jackalope Hotel – TCL

Pt Leo Estate Sculpture Park – Hassell

Urban Design

Landscape Architecture Awards

The Tin Alley Masterplan – Hassell

Monash University Western Precinct Landscape – Rush Wright Associates

More award

See all
National prize winner: Revival: Drug Rehabilitation Landscape by Oshadi Jayasinghe of Deakin University 2019 Landscape Student Prize

The winners of the 2019 Landscape Architecture Australia Student Prize.

The design aims to reduce depression and loneliness and increase patients’ self satisfaction by connecting them to the soil and the process of growing food. 2019 Landscape Architecture Australia Student Prize: Deakin University

Revival: Drug Rehabilitation Landscape by Oshadi Jayasinghe, Master of Landscape Architecture, Deakin University

The evaporative infrastructures of District 1 produce vapour and intensely heat the surrounding atmosphere. 2019 Landscape Architecture Australia Student Prize: Queensland University of Technology

Apotheosis by Rebecca Lee, Bachelor of Design (Landscape Architecture), Queensland University of Technology

Each reserve has a planning area where participants design site specific management practices. 2019 Landscape Architecture Australia Student Prize: The University of Canberra

Wayfinder by Fehin Coffey, Bachelor of Landscape Architecture (Honours), The University of Canberra

Most read

Latest on site