Winners announced: 2019 IFLA Asia-Pacific Landscape Architecture Awards

The International Federation of Landscape Architects (IFLA) Asia-Pacific Region has announced the winners of the 2019 IFLA Asia-Pac LA Awards.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony on 8 November 2019 at the IFLA Asia Pacific Congress, to be held in Cebu City, the Phillipines.

The IFLA Asia-Pac LA Awards program was inaugurated in 2017 and aims to build continuous awareness and recognition of landscape architecture, together with other professions that play a key role in shaping our cities and environment. The 2019 awards are divided into fifteen categories: Analysis and Master Planning; Communities; Cultural and Urban Landscape; Infrastructure; Lighting and Night Experience; Nature Conservation; Open Space; Residential; Skyrise Greenery; Art and Sculpture; Integrated Architecture; Play and Playground Design; Real Estate and Show Flats; Wayfinding and Signage; and Courtyard and Small Garden. Awards under each category are given under the levels of Outstanding Awards, Awards of Excellence and Honourable Mentions.

Linda Corkery, immediate past president of AILA; Perry Lethlean, director of TCL (Taylor Cullity Lethlean) and Shaun Walsh, president of AILA were on the 2019 jury panel.

IFLA Asia-Pac LA Awards – Outstanding Awards

Analysis and Master Planning

Beijing Green Corridor 2020 by Beijing Forestry University

Landscape City: Green Infrastructure Planning of New Town in Suqian by Beijing Forestry University


The Watering Flywheel contributes Water Circulation for Urban Forests by Parks and Street Lights Office, Public Works Department, Taipei City Government

Open Space

Representation of Tusi Heritage Environment – The Archaeological Site of Laosicheng Tusi Domain by China Architecture Design and Research Group

For a full list of the 2019 IFLA Asia-Pac LA Awards results, including Awards of Excellence and Honourable Mentions, visit the IFLA website.

Related topics

More news

See all
Saxhóll Crater Stairway in Iceland by Icelandic studio Landslag ehf, winner of the 2018 Rosa Barba International Landscape Prize. Entries open: 11th Rosa Barba Landscape Prize

The 11th edition of the biennial international prize is now calling for submissions.

Whynot St Pool and Carport by Kieron Gait Architects and Dan Young Landscape Architect, winner of the Garden or Landscape category at the 2019 Houses Awards. Entries open: 2020 Houses Awards

The awards include a “Garden or Landscape” category.

Aperture f/1.2, Shallow Inlet (2015). Each of the series of four installations decreased its aperture in response to the compression of the landscape around the bay, from primary sand dunes to rocky escarpment. Waratah Bay, Victoria, Regional Arts Victoria Fund 2015 TCL announces recipient of the 2020 Kevin Taylor Legacy Creative Grant

The winner will use the grant to develop a “conceptual land-art project” that explores “objective awareness and [the] subjective experience of time.”

Crowdfunding sought to replant tree sheltering Boyd's Walsh Street House Crowdfunding sought to replant tree sheltering Boyd's Walsh Street House

The Robin Boyd Foundation is seeking donations to help replace a significant, heritage-listed tree at Boyd’s seminal Walsh Street House.

Most read

Latest on site