Endorsed by

Winners announced: 2018 VIC Landscape Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Landscape Architects (AILA) has announced the winners of the 2018 VIC Landscape Architecture Awards.

A cycling trail that responds thoughtfully to its context, a masterplan for one of Victoria’s most unique national parks, and a design for the open space of an alpine town were among the winners at the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects’ (AILA) 2018 VIC Landscape Architecture Awards, announced Friday 10 August in Melbourne.

“This year the entries demonstrated not only the maturity of the profession but also investment in high-quality strategic and landscape design-led projects. We are fortunate to recognise an array of projects that enhance public spaces, engage with the community and exemplify enduring design,” said the awards jury chair Bronwen Hamilton.

AILA Victorian Chapter president Adrian Gray: “The rejuvenation of public and private spaces and a move towards integrated green infrastructure demonstrates the role that landscape architecture has in sustaining human health and well-being and the liveability of Melbourne. The awards are a great way to recognise the outstanding projects in our state and their contribution to the public and respective communities.”

The 2018 AILA VIC awards jury comprised Bronwen Hamilton – manager Victorian Design Review Panel at the Office of the Victorian Government Architect (jury chair); Mary Papaioannou, immediate past AILA Victoria vice-president and consultant landscape architect; Morag Ritchie – landscape architect in Campus Planning and Design at the University of Melbourne; Holly Hein – landscape architect at Playce and lecturer at RMIT University; Ben Kronenberg – senior landscape architect at Openwork; and Jocelyn Chiew – registered architect, landscape architect and urban designer at Monash University.

An exhibition of the award-winning projects in the Victorian state awards will be on display at RMIT Design Hub from 20 August. Projects receiving Awards of Excellence and Landscape Architecture Awards will proceed to the National Awards with winners announced on Thursday 11 October as part of this year’s International Festival of Landscape Architecture.

Civic landscape

Landscape Architecture Awards

MADA West Courtyard – Glas Landscape Architects

Pride of Melton – Outlines Landscape Architecture

Dawson Street Precinct Sunshine – Fitzgerald Frisby Landscape Architecture

Community Contribution

Landscape Architecture Award

Livvi’s Place Craigieburn – Aspect Studios

Cultural Heritage

Award of Excellence

Point Nepean National Park Master Plan – TCL (Taylor Cullity Lethlean) and Parks Victoria


Award of Excellence

Earth Sciences Garden, Monash University – Rush Wright Associates

Landscape Architecture Awards

MPavilion 2017 – Tract Consultants

Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre – Rush Wright Associates


Award of Excellence

Darebin Yarra Trail Link – VicRoads Urban Design Team and VicRoads Structural

Design Team

Landscape Architecture Award

Skeleton Creek Bridges – Site Office

Land Management

Landscape Architecture Awards

The System Garden Masterplan – Glas Landscape Architects

Landscape Planning

Award of Excellence

Chain of Ponds - An Action Plan for Moonee Ponds Creek – Site Office

Landscape Architecture Awards

Puffing Billy Master Plan – Tract Consultants

Play Spaces

Landscape Architecture Award

Ballam Bumps Regional Playspace – Playce

Booran Reserve Playspace – ACLA Consultants

Mirambeena Park, Warralily, Armstrong Creek – GbLA

Parks and Open Space

Award of Excellence

Alpine Better Places: Porepunkah – MDG Landscape Architects

Landscape Architecture Award

Williams Reserve, Richmond – Hansen Partnership

Research Policy and Communications

Award of Excellence

Urban Choreography: Central Melbourne 1985–, by Kim Dovey, Rob Adams and Ronald Jones (Melbourne University Press, 2018) – Jones & Whitehead Pty Ltd with City of Melbourne and the University of Melbourne

Landscape Architecture Awards

Monash University - Civil Engineering Hydraulics ‘Living Lab’ – Aspect Studios

Embracing the Asian Century, Landscape Architecture Australia – Jillian Walliss, Heike Rahmann, Ricky Ray Ricardo

Small Projects

Award of Excellence

Immigration Museum Activation Project – Rush Wright Associates

Landscape Architecture Awards

Tarrawarra Abbey – Aspect Studios

Valley Lake Lookout – McGregor Coxall


Award of Excellence

Carnivores Trail (Predators Precinct) – Urban Initiatives

Landscape Architecture Award

Falls to Hotham Alpine Crossing Master Plan – Mcgregor Coxall

Urban Design

Award of Excellence

Victoria Square, Kerang – Hansen Partnership

Landscape Architecture Awards

Geelong Laneways Precinct – Outlines Landscape Architecture

Future Leader


Timothy D’Agostino – Aspect Studios

President’s Award

Anne-Marie Pisani

Related topics

More news

See all
The Arc by Koichi Takada Architects. Winners revealed: 2019 Think Brick Awards

The winners of the 2019 Think Brick Awards were announced at a gala dinner at the Crown Palladium in Melbourne.

Manatj Park (Kings Square), Perth City Link by Plan E Landscape Architects with Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects and Lyons Architects Shortlist revealed: 2019 Australian Urban Design Awards

Fifty-two entries have been shortlisted in the 2019 edition of the Australian Urban Design Awards.

Central Melbourne. Infrastructure Australia warns ‘more must be done’ to maintain quality of life

Infrastructure Australia has warned that despite rising rates of investment in infrastructure, “more must be done if we are to maintain, let alone enhance, our …

Barangaroo Point, Sydney, November 2014. Aerial image taken from Nearmap. International landscape architecture prize offers unprecedented US$100,000

US-based education and advocacy organization The Cultural Landscape Foundation has launched an international landscape architecture prize worth US$100,000 to be conferred biennially.

Most read

Latest on site