Endorsed by

Winners announced: 2017 Queensland Landscape Architecture Awards

The winners of the 2017 Australian Institute of Landscape Architects’ (AILA) Queensland Landscape Architecture Awards have been announced in Brisbane. Fourteen winners were recognized across 10 categories from almost 50 project entries.

Hobbs Park and 480 Queen by Lat27.

Hobbs Park and 480 Queen by Lat27.

Image: Paul Druery

AILA Queensland chapter manager Georgina Scriha said, “Queenslanders should be so proud of these projects as they exemplify the well-planned open, play or green spaces that we enjoy as part of our outdoor lifestyle – especially in our ever-expanding urban areas where planning has never been more vital.”

In his report, jury chair Wes Mortensen interpreted the presence of several small practices as evidence of landscape architecture’s resilience.

Immanuel Early Learning Centre Play Space by Greenedge Design Consultants.

Immanuel Early Learning Centre Play Space by Greenedge Design Consultants.

Image: Greg Thomas

“The rise and sustainability of small practices has shown the resilience of the profession after the post-[Global Financial Crisis] madness, proving you do not need a big firm to think and deliver big outcomes,” he said.

The award for civic landscape architecture went to AECOM for its work on Beenleigh Town Square. In its citation, the jury said the project was “the culmination of a long term investment in planning and community capacity building and addresses a long standing dominance of the space by roads, cars and civil infrastructure.”

Lat27 won the Parks and Open Space Landscape Architecture Award for its Hobbs Park and 480 Queen Street project, which the jury lauded as “an intriguing and unexpected sequence of connected public spaces in the heart of Brisbane CBD.”

The jury comprised Wes Mortensen (jury chair, Moreton Bay Regional Council), Ashley Burns (Queensland Department of Housing and Public Works), Cathryn Chatburn (Urban Enquiry), Dr Andrew O’Neill (Healthy Land and Water), Yen Trinh (City of Gold Coast), Jamie Franklin (Sunshine Coast Council), Jane Irwin (Jane Irwin Landscape Architecture) and Taneile Nixon (Tract Consultants, who acted as an observer for three categories).

The winners of Awards of Excellence or Landscape Architecture Awards will be considered for AILA national landscape architecture awards, to be announced in Sydney in October.

Civic Landscape

Landscape Architecture Award

Beenleigh Town Square – AECOM

Parks and Open Space

Landscape Architecture Award

Hobbs Park and 480 Queen Street – Lat27

Play Spaces

Landscape Architecture Awards

Immanuel Early Learning Centre Play Space – Greenedge Design Consultants

Roma Street Parkland and Children’s Garden – Lat27 and Playscape Creations


Landscape Architecture Award

UQ Synthetic Sports Ovals – Tract Consultants

Land Management

Award of Excellence

Big Plans for Small Creek – Landscapology


Landscape Architecture Awards

Mary Cairncross Scenic Reserve – Guymer Bailey Landscape

Noosa North Shore Beach Campground – Hassell and Noosa Council

Urban Design

Landscape Architecture Award

Townsville North Railyards Future Directions – Tract Consultants

Landscape Planning

Award of Excellence

Vibrant Towns of the Scenic Rim – John Mongard Landscape Architects

Community Contribution

Award of Excellence

Yeronga State School Cool School Review – Fred St

Landscape Architecture Award

Gabba 2 Goodwill Bikeway – Tract Consultants

Small Projects

Landscape Architecture Awards

South Bank Parklands Pop Up – Lat27

Tully Memorial Park Flood Markers – Logan City Council

More news

See all
2017 MPavilion by OMA, winner of the Melbourne Award in 2018 for "Contribution to Profile by a Community Organisation." In push to improve development, City of Melbourne adds Urban Design category to Melbourne Awards

The City of Melbourne has announced an expansion of its annual awards program – the Melbourne Awards – that includes a category for outstanding urban …

A river red gum in Bulleen has been named the 2019 Victorian Tree of the Year. 2019 Victorian Tree of the Year announced

Among the shortlisted trees was a weeping Mexican cyprus in Sunbury, a Turkey oak in Ballarat Botanic Gardens and a Tasmanian blue gum known as …

Sharon Harwood RPIA (fellow) was awarded Planning of the Year in the 2019 National Awards for Planning Excellence. Celebrating the best in Australian planning in 2019

The Planning Institute of Australia held its 2019 National Awards for Planning Excellence Ceremony on the Gold Coast on 15 May 2019, awarding people and …

A possible wetlands outcome from the plan in E-Gate. City of Melbourne considers chain of new parks and wetlands in draft plan for Moonee Ponds Creek

The City of Melbourne is currently seeking public feedback on a plan for Moonee Ponds Creek which aims to create new green public spaces and …

Most read

Latest on site