2010 AILA National Landscape Architecture Award: Research and Communication

placesforme by Hassell

Jury comment

This project recognizes and embraces the power of social networking and use of communication technology to invite public commentary and suggestions for the design of their built environments.

Initiated as an experiment within the Young Designers Group of Hassell’s Perth studio, www.placesforme.info is a means for the profession to invite the public to initiate the discussion about public space up-front, and not simply respond or react to specific proposals.

The jury was excited about this as a prototype for exploring collaborative and potentially more accessible public participation, one that is not so specific to time and place. In particular, “placesforme” presents an ideal platform for enabling young people to have a louder voice.



Published online: 8 Apr 2016


Landscape Architecture Australia, November 2010

Related topics

More news

See all
The Gender Equity: Next Steps report outlines how AILA aims to respond to gender inequities in the profession. AILA releases gender equity action plan

The Australian Institute of Landscape Architects (AILA) has released a report which sets out how it will address gender inequities in the profession.

The Laslett Buildings in central Kalgoorlie. Aspect Studios tapped to design Kalgoorlie city centre

Aspect Studios has been awarded the detailed design tender for the transformation of a mining town in Western Australia.

RMIT University’s New Academic Street by Lyons with NMBW Architecture Studio, Harrison and White, MvS Architects and Maddison Architects, is cited as an exemplar of effective urban design in the Central Melbourne Design Guide. Major update to Melbourne’s urban design policy

City of Melbourne councillors have endorsed two documents aimed at improving design quality in private developments.

A concept for the riverfront presented in the City Reach Waterfront Masterplan. Brisbane council plans overhaul of ‘crowded,’ ‘narrow’ CBD riverfront

The stretch between the City Botanic Gardens and Howard Smith Wharves has been called “one of the least generous waterfronts” of its kind.

Most read