Endorsed by

2010 AILA National Landscape Architecture Award: Design

Pioneer Park by Gamble McKinnon Green

Client: Townsville City Council

Jury comment

The jury was pleased with the manner in which this project presented a “distinctively Townsville” approach and represented a positive direction for Townsville in redeveloping this precinct, eschewing the temptation to redevelop this unique top-end city in a generic urban style.

Beautiful integration of existing mature trees and endemic plants gives the project good environmental credentials as well as good social benefits, further enriched with the integration of a local arts program. The park’s development responds to the recreation needs of this city and, importantly, provides public access to water for swimming, at no charge.

For further coverage see Landscape Architecture Australia 116, November 2007.



Published online: 8 Apr 2016
Images: Scott Burrows


Landscape Architecture Australia, November 2010

Related topics

More news

See all
The Arc by Koichi Takada Architects. Winners revealed: 2019 Think Brick Awards

The winners of the 2019 Think Brick Awards were announced at a gala dinner at the Crown Palladium in Melbourne.

Manatj Park (Kings Square), Perth City Link by Plan E Landscape Architects with Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects and Lyons Architects Shortlist revealed: 2019 Australian Urban Design Awards

Fifty-two entries have been shortlisted in the 2019 edition of the Australian Urban Design Awards.

Central Melbourne. Infrastructure Australia warns ‘more must be done’ to maintain quality of life

Infrastructure Australia has warned that despite rising rates of investment in infrastructure, “more must be done if we are to maintain, let alone enhance, our …

Barangaroo Point, Sydney, November 2014. Aerial image taken from Nearmap. International landscape architecture prize offers unprecedented US$100,000

US-based education and advocacy organization The Cultural Landscape Foundation has launched an international landscape architecture prize worth US$100,000 to be conferred biennially.

Most read

Latest on site