Entries open: 11th Rosa Barba Landscape Prize

The 11th Rosa Barba Landscape Prize is now accepting submissions.

The prize is sponsored by Fundación Banc Sabadell and is set within the framework of the 11th International Biennale of Landscape Architecture to be held in Barcelona on the 30th of September, 1st and 2nd of October. The theme of this year’s Biennale is “Climate change again,” with discussions to centre on issues related to the global crisis and its endangering of existing ecosystems.

The Biennale is accepting submissions of landscape architecture and planning interventions, located world-wide, created between 2015-2020. The prize of €15,000 will be announced during the symposium.

The jury for the 11th prize comprises:

- Julie Bargmann of US-based practice; D.I.R.T studio;
- James Hayter of Adelaide studio, Oxigen;
- Pierre Donadieu, emeritus professor in Landscape Sciences at the National School of Landscape Architecture of Versailles-Marseille;
- Kongjian Yu, founder of Beijing-based firm Turenscape; and
- Maimunah Mohd Sharif, executive director of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme.

Past Rosa Barba Landscape Prize winners include:

2018Saxhóll Crater Stairway in Iceland, Landslag ehf

2016Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, Hargreaves Associates
Public Opinion Prize: Renaturation of the River Aire, Atelier Descombes Rampini + Superpositions

2014 – North Wharf Promenade, Taylor Cullity Lethlean and Wraight and Associates

2012 – Cap de Creus, EMF

Submissions for the 11th Rosa Barba Landscape Prize close 31 March 2020.

Landscape Australia is a strategic international partner of the International Biennale of Landscape Architecture in Barcelona.

More news

See all
Southern Parklands Framework by Tyrrell Studio in collaboration with Western Sydney Parklands Trust took out the Award of Excellence for Parks and Open Space at the 2019 National Landscape Architecture Awards. 2020 National Landscape Architecture Awards jury named

The Australian Institute of Landscape Architects has announced the jury that will determine the winners of the 2020 National Landscape Architecture Awards.

Sydney Park Water Re-Use Project by Turf Design Studio and Environmental Partnership. New precinct category added to Good Design Awards

A new category for precinct design joins 10 existing categories in the 2020 Good Design Awards.

Ben Stockwin, CEO of the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects. AILA appoints new CEO

The Australian Institute of Landscape Architects (AILA) has appointed Ben Stockwin as its new CEO.

Aerial photograph of the Penrith CBD. Study confirms that development contributes to urban heat

With 50-degree-plus summers on the horizon, could green and blue infrastructure help alleviate urban heat effects in highly developed areas?

Most read

Latest on site