Shortlist revealed: 2017 Australian Urban Design Awards

The 2017 AUDA jury.

The 2017 AUDA jury.

Image: Kit Haselden

From a pool of seventy-one entries, thirty-three projects have been shortlisted in the 2017 Australian Urban Design Awards, the nation’s premier awards for excellence and innovation in urban design.

The awards recognize contemporary Australian urban design of the highest quality and aim to encourage cities, towns and communities across the country to strive for best practice.

On the jury was Jon Clements (director, Jackson Clements Burrows), Malcolm Snow (chief executive, National Capital Authority), Jill Garner (Victorian Government Architect), Neil Savery (general manager, Australian Building Codes Board), Cindy Varnier (infrastructure sustainability consultant, GHD), Tim Hunt (Melbourne leader, lighting, Arup), Davina Knox (senior sustainability consultant, WSP) and William Chandler (director, Chandler Consulting Services).

The awards will announced in Brisbane on Wednesday 25 October. The announcement will be preceded by a keynote address from Heinrich Wolff, Wolff Architects, South Africa, entitled ‘Network Systems.’ Heinrich’s work has been recognized with a Daimler Chrysler Award for South African Architecture and the RIBA Lubetkin Award. He has held several academic appointments including as adjunct associate professor at UCT, Cape Town and as a visiting professor at the ETH in Zürich, IUAV in Venice and Washington University in St Louis. In September he was the inaugural Charles Correa Chair for architecture at the University of Goa, India, teaching an urban design workshop called Urban Externalities.

The Australian Urban Design Awards program was established as the Australia Award for Urban Design in 1996 and was created by then-prime minister Paul Keating’s Urban Design Task Force. Malcolm Turnbull, prime minister of Australia, and Lucy Turnbull, former lord mayor of Sydney and chief commissioner of the Greater Sydney Commission, are both patrons of the awards. Past patrons include former prime ministers Julia Gillard and Kevin Rudd.

2017 Australian Urban Design Awards shortlist

Delivered outcome – large scale

Elizabeth QuayMetropolitan Redevelopment Authority with ARM Architecture and Taylor Cullity Lethlean

EY Centre, 200 George Street – FJMT in collaboration with Mirvac

Junction Place, Wodonga – ASPECT Studios, Development Victoria, City of Wodonga

Maitland Levee – McGregor Coxall, CHROFI, Northrop, City Plan Heritage, MBM, MGAC, JBA, Alluvium

Soho Village – Clarke Hopkins Clarke

Tonsley Innovation DistrictOxigen, Woods Bagot, KBR, WSP, Tridente Architects and RenewalSA

Delivered outcome – small scale

Bowden Town Square – Aspect Studios, Ashley Halliday Architects and Renewal SA

Brooke Street Pier – Ireneinc Planning and Urban Design

Fitzroy Gardens Redevelopment – City of Melbourne, City Design Studio

Henley Square Redevelopment – TCL and Troppo Architects

Monash University Caulfield Campus GreenTCL

Orange Regional MuseumCrone

Sixth Street Revitalization Project – Jensen Plus and The Rural City of Murray Bridge

Tanderrum BridgeJohn Wardle Architects and NADAAA in collaboration

Windsor Plaza – ASPECT Studios, City of Stonnington

Wynyard Walk – Woods Bagot

Policies, programs and concepts – large scale

Better Placed - An integrated design policy for the built environment of New South Wales – Government Architect New South Wales

Future Parade - K2K Kensington to Kingsford Town CentresEthos Urban (formerly JBA), Stewart Hollenstein, Arcadia, Jess Scully, Transport Planning Partnership

Hyper Active Transport: A Road to Rapid Decarbonisation – Peter Willett Associates

K2K (Kensington to Kingsford Town Centres)JMD design, Hill Thalis, Bennett and Trimble

New World City Design Guide: Buildings that Breathe – Brisbane City Council in collaboration with Urbis and Arkhefield

Rockhampton Riverside and CBD Redevelopment – Urbis

Smart Seeds – GHD

Sydney Light Rail: Urban Renewal Strategy and Reference Design – Hassell

Sydney Metro Northwest: Urban Design and Corridor Landscape PlanHassell

Transport for NSW Urban Design Guidelines – Transport for New South Wales Precincts and Urban Design team

Western Metropolitan Regional Trails Strategic Plan – Fitzgerald Frisby Landscape Architecture

Policies, programs and concepts – small scale

Fremantle 2029 Transformational Moves – Cox Architecture and City of Fremantle

Montario Quarter – LandCorp Urbis

Parramatta Civic LinkSJB and ASPECT Studios

Telopea Master Plan – Urbis

The Freo Alternative – Australian Urban Design Research Centre

Urban Design Framework for the ANU Union Court and University Avenue Precinct – Civitas Urban Design and Planning

The Australian Urban Design Awards are organized by Architecture Media and convened by the Planning Institute of Australia with the support of the Australian Institute of Architects, the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects, the Government Architects Network Australia, the Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council, Consult Australia, Engineers Australia and the Green Building Council of Australia. The principal partner is Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia, with supporting partners PTA Landscapes, Holcim, Wood Solutions, Christie and the Queensland Government.

The winners will be announced in Brisbane on 25 October.

Powered by Eventbrite
Related topics

More news

See all
Domic by James Birrell Design Lab Winners announced: 2020 QLD Landscape Architecture Awards

The Queensland chapter of AILA has awarded 17 projects from a total of 68 submissions.

The University of Queensland. UQ introduces new degree for the age of the Australian megacity

The University of Queensland has introduced a new masters degree in urban development and design aimed at creating sustainable cities.

Sunvale Community Park by Brimbank City Council Winners announced: 2020 VIC Landscape Architecture Awards

Twenty-six projects were awarded across 12 categories from a total of 50 entries.

The proposed new Sydney Fish Market by 3XN, BVN and Aspect Studios. $750 million relocation and redevelopment of Sydney Fish Market approved

The NSW government has approved the $750 million redevelopment of the Sydney Fish Market.

Most read

Latest on site