Endorsed by

2018 Australian Urban Design Awards jury announced

The jury for the 2018 edition of the Australian Urban Design Awards has been announced, with submissions for the awards program being accepted up until 27 July.

Among the jury members are Helen Lochhead, president-elect of the Australian Institute of Architects and dean of the University of New South Wales Built Environment school and Melinda Payne, associate to the Western Australian Government Architect.

The full jury comprises:

Amy Child – Arup transport and urban planner (representing Engineers Australia)

Helen Lochhead – UNSW Built Environment dean (representing the Australian Institute of Architects)

James Cahill – Mirvac ESD engineer (representing the Green Building Council of Australia)

Malcolm Snow – City Renewal Authority CEO (representing the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects)

Melinda Payne – Government Architect Western Australia associate (representing the Government Architects Network Australia)

Neil Savery – Australian Building Codes Board CEO (representing the Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council)

William Chandler – Chandler Consulting Services director (representing the Planning Institute of Australia)

The Australian Urban Design Awards are broad in scope and attract entries for initiatives, built projects and publications. The 2018 awards’ categories have been refreshed to reflect the importance of good design at a local, regional and city scale.

The 2018 award categories are: Built projects – city and regional scale; Built projects – local and neighbourhood scale; Leadership, advocacy and research – city and regional scale; and Leadership, advocacy and research – local and neighbourhood scale.

The awards patrons are prime minister Malcolm Turnbull and chief commissioner of the Greater Sydney Commission Lucy Turnbull.

The Australian Urban Design Awards are organized by Architecture Media and convened by the Planning Institute of Australia with the support of the Australian Institute of Architects, the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects, the Green Building Council of Australia, the Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council, Consult Australia, Engineers Australia, the Urban Design Forum and the Government Architects Network Australia.

The awards are supported by principal partner Cement and Concrete Aggregates Australia and supporting partners Cosentino and Holcim.

For further information and to enter the awards, head here.

More news

See all
The winning design for Parramatta Aquatic Centre by Grimshaw, Andrew Burges Architects and McGregor Coxall. Ring-shaped aquatic centre design revealed after year of secrecy

A funding dispute kept the winning design for Parramatta Aquatic Centre under wraps for more than a year.

The Sydney Olympic Stadium by Populous and Bligh Lobb Sports Architecture will be refurbished. Design competition launched for the Sydney stadium that survived demolition

The $200,000-prize-pool competition calls for designs for the public precinct surrounding Sydney Olympic Park.

First place winner in the 2019 LAGI competition – Starlit Stratus by Sunggi Park (Long Island City (NY), USA) uses solar photovoltaic to generate 2,484 MWh per year. A submission to the 2019 Land Art Generator Initiative Design Competition for Abu Dhabi. 2019 Land Art Generator Initiative design competition winners announced

A New York-based architect has been named the winner of the sixth Land Art Generator Initiative (LAGI) international design competition sited in Abu Dhabi’s Masdar …

Asahikawa Kitasaito Garden by Takano Landscape Planning Co Ltd in Asahikawa, Japan, won an Outstanding Award in the Communities category in the 2017 IFLA Asia-Pac LA Awards. Winners announced: 2019 IFLA Asia-Pacific Landscape Architecture Awards

Four Outstanding Awards were given to projects in the categories of Analysis and Master Planning, Communities and Open Space.

Most read

Latest on site