2018 National Landscape Architecture Awards: Landscape Architecture Award for Parks and Open Space

Oaklands Park and Wetland by TCL (Taylor Cullity Lethlean)

Jury citation:

This work clearly shows the benefits landscape architects can bring when they lead green infrastructure projects. At its heart is a functional wetland, which harvests water from the Sturt River for the irrigation of thirty open spaces and for groundwater recharge. The design integrates the wetland into the site topography, retaining existing trees and maximizing ecological value. A circuit path allows visitors to interact with a mix of formal and natural spaces. The project is commended for its restraint and for the creation of diverse immersive spaces for the community to relax in and explore nature. It shows a high level of collaboration between the council, its partners and the designers.

Location: Oaklands Park (SA)

Aboriginal Nation: Kaurna



Published online: 2 Nov 2018
Words: LandscapeAustralia Editorial Desk
Images: Sam Noonan


Landscape Architecture Australia, November 2018

More award

See all
National prize winner: Revival: Drug Rehabilitation Landscape by Oshadi Jayasinghe of Deakin University 2019 Landscape Student Prize

The winners of the 2019 Landscape Architecture Australia Student Prize.

The design aims to reduce depression and loneliness and increase patients’ self satisfaction by connecting them to the soil and the process of growing food. 2019 Landscape Architecture Australia Student Prize: Deakin University

Revival: Drug Rehabilitation Landscape by Oshadi Jayasinghe, Master of Landscape Architecture, Deakin University

The evaporative infrastructures of District 1 produce vapour and intensely heat the surrounding atmosphere. 2019 Landscape Architecture Australia Student Prize: Queensland University of Technology

Apotheosis by Rebecca Lee, Bachelor of Design (Landscape Architecture), Queensland University of Technology

Each reserve has a planning area where participants design site specific management practices. 2019 Landscape Architecture Australia Student Prize: The University of Canberra

Wayfinder by Fehin Coffey, Bachelor of Landscape Architecture (Honours), The University of Canberra

Most read

Latest on site