2018 National Landscape Architecture Awards: Award of Excellence for Landscape Planning

Chain of Ponds – An Action Plan for Moonee Ponds Creek by Site Office

Jury citation:

The Chain of Ponds action plan takes a comprehensive and sophisticated approach to issues faced in the restoration of the somewhat mistreated Moonee Ponds creek line. It recognizes the creek line system as a necessary piece of blue infrastructure that supports the community’s structure and future.

The action plan, led by Site Office, builds on previous analytical studies of the creek line and provides an opportunity to inform and influence others, including governments, with its clear holistic views of strategic planning and management.

Location: City of Moonee Valley (VIC)

Aboriginal Nation: Wurundjeri



Published online: 2 Nov 2018
Words: LandscapeAustralia Editorial Desk
Images: Site Office


Landscape Architecture Australia, November 2018

More award

See all
National prize winner: Revival: Drug Rehabilitation Landscape by Oshadi Jayasinghe of Deakin University 2019 Landscape Student Prize

The winners of the 2019 Landscape Architecture Australia Student Prize.

The design aims to reduce depression and loneliness and increase patients’ self satisfaction by connecting them to the soil and the process of growing food. 2019 Landscape Architecture Australia Student Prize: Deakin University

Revival: Drug Rehabilitation Landscape by Oshadi Jayasinghe, Master of Landscape Architecture, Deakin University

The evaporative infrastructures of District 1 produce vapour and intensely heat the surrounding atmosphere. 2019 Landscape Architecture Australia Student Prize: Queensland University of Technology

Apotheosis by Rebecca Lee, Bachelor of Design (Landscape Architecture), Queensland University of Technology

Each reserve has a planning area where participants design site specific management practices. 2019 Landscape Architecture Australia Student Prize: The University of Canberra

Wayfinder by Fehin Coffey, Bachelor of Landscape Architecture (Honours), The University of Canberra

Most read

Latest on site