Endorsed by

2017 Australian Urban Design Awards jury announced

A panel of jurors for the 2017 Australian Urban Design Awards have been announced. The awards recognize contemporary Australian urban design of the highest quality and aims to encourage cities, towns and communities across the country to strive for best practice.

The jury for the awards will be made up of a representative from each of the supporting organizations:

  • Planning Institute of Australia: William Chandler (director, Chandler Consulting Services)
  • Australian Institute of Architects: Jon Clements (director, Jackson Clements Burrows)
  • Australian Institute of Landscape Architects: Malcolm Snow (chief executive, National Capital Authority)
  • Government Architects Network: Jill Garner (Victorian Government Architect)
  • Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council: Neil Savery (general manager, Australian Building Codes Board)
  • Consulting Australia: Cindy Varnier (infrastructure sustainability consultant, GHD)
  • Engineers Australia: Anne Kovachevich (Qld Ecologically Sustainable Development and Foresight and Innovation leader, Arup)
  • Green Building Council of Australia: Davina Nox (senior sustainability consultant, WSP)

The awards were developed from the Australia Award for Urban Design, which was created by former prime minister Paul Keating’s Urban Task Force in 1996.

The winners of the 2016 awards ranged from small urban interventions to concepts for entire suburbs. Entries are open to both built projects and design concepts and plans.

<!— /5912001/LA_AU_MR_side_300x250 —> <div id=’div-gpt-ad-1470029277033-2-mob’> <script> googletag.cmd.push(function() { // googletag.pubads().refresh([gptRespAdSlots[0]]); googletag.display(‘div-gpt-ad-1470029277033-2-mob’); }); </script> </div>

In a message congratulating the 2016 finalists, Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull said, “These projects and designs will enhance our cities’ built environments for the people they must serve, and leave a lasting legacy for future generations.”

The Australian Urban Design Awards are organized by Architecture Media and convened by the Planning Institute of Australia. The principal partner is Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia, with supporting partners PTA Landscapes, Holcim, Wood Solutions and Christie.

Entries close 28 July. The winners will be announced in Brisbane on 25 October. For more information on the Australian Urban Design Awards, including information on the entry process, go here.

Related topics

More news

See all
Kathryn Gustafson, winner of the 2019 Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award American landscape architect named 2019 Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award winner

American landscape architect Kathryn Gustafson has been announced the winner of the 2019 Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award, IFLA’s highest honor.

International Federation of Landscape Architects declares climate and biodiversity loss emergency International Federation of Landscape Architects declares climate and biodiversity loss emergency

The declaration follows the unanimous support of the 77 voting nations.

The winning design for Parramatta Aquatic Centre by Grimshaw, Andrew Burges Architects and McGregor Coxall. Ring-shaped aquatic centre design revealed after year of secrecy

A funding dispute kept the winning design for Parramatta Aquatic Centre under wraps for more than a year.

The Sydney Olympic Stadium by Populous and Bligh Lobb Sports Architecture will be refurbished. Design competition launched for the Sydney stadium that survived demolition

The $200,000-prize-pool competition calls for designs for the public precinct surrounding Sydney Olympic Park.

Most read