2016 National Landscape Architecture Awards: Award for Urban Design

Victoria Square/ Tarntanyangga Urban Regeneration Project by TCL (Taylor Cullity Lethlean) Urban Design: Landscape Architecture Award Australian Institute of Landscape Architects

Jury comment

Victoria Square/Tarntanyangga is an urban regeneration project with a bold vision to create a focused heart in the centre of Adelaide. With a brief strong on futureproofing and flexibility, the project team has had to be creative in its interpretation of community needs. The resulting project facilitates everyday community expression, supporting a wide variety of festivals and community events. From intimate seating for a quick business lunch to large open spaces that accommodate concerts, the design is adaptable, moveable, temporary and permanent all at the same time. It provides a new hub for the city, benefiting small local businesses, and it embraces its Aboriginal and cultural heritage to provide for recognition and reconciliation. It’s a space for a dynamic city that embraces people of all ages and walks of life, encouraging them to commune, celebrate and reconnect with each other.


Tonkin Zulaikha Greer Architects
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Site details
Location Adelaide,  SA,  Australia
Site type Urban
Category Landscape / urban
Type Culture / arts, Public / civic
Project Details
Client Adelaide City Council
Website adelaidecitycouncil.com



Published online: 27 Oct 2016
Words: National Landscape Architecture Awards Jury 2016
Images: John Gollings


Landscape Architecture Australia, November 2016

Related topics

More award

See all
National prize winner: Revival: Drug Rehabilitation Landscape by Oshadi Jayasinghe of Deakin University 2019 Landscape Student Prize

The winners of the 2019 Landscape Architecture Australia Student Prize.

The design aims to reduce depression and loneliness and increase patients’ self satisfaction by connecting them to the soil and the process of growing food. 2019 Landscape Architecture Australia Student Prize: Deakin University

Revival: Drug Rehabilitation Landscape by Oshadi Jayasinghe, Master of Landscape Architecture, Deakin University

The evaporative infrastructures of District 1 produce vapour and intensely heat the surrounding atmosphere. 2019 Landscape Architecture Australia Student Prize: Queensland University of Technology

Apotheosis by Rebecca Lee, Bachelor of Design (Landscape Architecture), Queensland University of Technology

Each reserve has a planning area where participants design site specific management practices. 2019 Landscape Architecture Australia Student Prize: The University of Canberra

Wayfinder by Fehin Coffey, Bachelor of Landscape Architecture (Honours), The University of Canberra

Most read

Latest on site